Features, Interviews
Leave a Comment

Meet BAL’s New Non-Fiction Writers!

Bronx Academy of Letters is kicking off another great year in writing! This semester we’ve got two Non-Fiction elective classes busting their bums to create some magic on the page. While our newspaper staff is still assembling, in the meantime, meet some of the writers you’ll be hearing from!

Bronx Academy of Letters Non-Fiction Writers Profiles!

ryanRYAN J. GARY

Bio: I guess I’m just a regular kid. It’s rare when I’m not hungry because for some reason my body sweats a lot of calories out. My father is Black and my mom is Puerto Rican.

What is the story of your name?
My name is commonly used in Ireland but is also quite known here. It means “Little King.” My parents chose the name Ryan because it was hard to find a name that matches with my last name. Also my sister actually chose my middle name and she got it from retired pro basketball player, Michael Jordan.

What is your earliest memory?
My earliest memory isn’t the best but more traumatic. I was four years old at the time and eating an orange in my house. Next thing I know, I’m choking on one of the seeds and start running to the toilet to vomit.

What do you love to do for fun?
What I love to do for fun is play sports or play video games. Sports are just the best and I loved to play them since I was a little kid. Video Games are also amazing too because you get to do whatever you want in them, like in Grand Theft Auto, it’s your own world to control or be apart of.

Do you believe in love at first sight?
I would have to say yes because I believe that love at first sight can be real. Whether it’s a lot or a little is totally up to the person. Just like when I was in kindergarten and got my first dogs. It was love at first sight.

What are you dying to try?
What I’m dying to try is to go to a gun range. Hopefully when I turn fifteen, I’ll go just like my cousin. Something that I will never do is go skydiving. With my luck, I’ll probably have a parachute malfunction.


.

kevKEVIN PARADES

Bio: I love speaking my mind but still I try to make sure that my words or my writings don’t affect people negatively. My parents both came from a small island: Dominican Republic. I have many passions, learning, swimming, having quality time with my friends and spending time with my family. Some of my favorite school subjects include history, writing and reading class.

How do you want to be remembered?
I would be loved to be remembered as the person that doesn’t give up easy and always tries their hardest to get what they work for. Being remembered as someone great is amazing because you can be an inspiration to other people and aspire to be great.

What kind of student are you?
I am the type of student that is a clown in class but will always do my work and never disrespect a teacher. Being a good student has always been something important to me.

What makes a good friend?
I believe what makes a good friend is someone that is always there for you and never betray you. A good friend will never leave you behind, they will always be at your side.

What is your earliest memory?
Some of my earliest memory was when I was about six years old and I was playing with my grandfather in the house and he was chasing me, and I would chase him.

What is one memory you want to hold onto forever?
One memory I want to hold onto forever is the memory of my grandfather. I never want to forget him. My grandfather is such an important person to me, his memory is something that I value.


.
naliana
NALIANA ALVAREZ

Bio: My name is Naliana, I’m 14 and I grew up in the Bronx. I always had a passion for make up. I am creative, outspoken, remarkably artistic in many ways.

Do you believe in love at first sight?
I don’t believe in love at first site because you can fall in love with the totally wrong person and their personality can be like crap. They may not meet your standards at all. Or maybe they’re not really the one. It takes time to get to know someone to fall in love.

What is in your future?
I hope my future awaits for me to become a surgeon because I love doctor shows and it’s so cool. and it’s like you’re feeling reality. Also I love watching “Greys Anatomy,” which also inspires me to become a doctor to save lives and to learn about the body.

What kind of student are you?
The kind of student I am is hardworking and chilled back at the same time. Like I could be getting my work done but also talking. I can be very focused at times, too. I love to work and get stuff done. As long as I complete it, I’m good.

What do you do for fun?
What I do for fun is go to the mall and shop till I drop, pretty much. I love to go shopping — my hobby might as well be buying the whole store. I’m glad malls exist.

What makes a good friend?
What makes a good friend is being supportive but also down for you at the same time. Always there for you through the struggles and problems, there to give you advice, to make you happy when you’re down.


.
shaneiya
SHANIEYA SEDA

Bio: My name is Shanieya Seda. I was born in the Bronx but my nationality is Puerto Rican and Irish. My favorite subject is science and I want to become a veterinarian when I grow older. I have one sibling that is older than me, so I am the youngest child. I am proud of all the achievements I have made like being in more advanced classes. When I grow older I would also love to travel around the world like my great-grandpa did when he was younger.

How would you like to be remembered?
I think I would like to be remembered as that quiet but cool girl. Because once you get to know me I am just a really chill, funny person. Even though sometimes I may get loud. I get along with a lot of people just because I am carefree. I don’t really care about your looks or whatever, I just care about personality. Some people may think I’m a b***h just because of how quiet I am when they first see me but once they get to know me they think way differently.

If you could interview anyone from your life living or dead, who would it be and why?
I think I would interview my grandpa who sadly passed away about 4 years ago. He was a veteran so he traveled around the world and got to experience a lot of things. So I would love to question him about his adventures and his hardships on that, just to learn more about his life.

What makes for a good friend?
I think what makes a good friend is loyalty and honesty, because you have to have that trust in someone to be a good friend. You have to be able to have fun with them and have good memories. Also you have to be able to carry a good conversation with them and not a boring 3 minute conversation.

What is one thing you are dying to try?
One thing would be to travel. I would love to experience the different cultures and the different parts of the world. There are so many interesting things that the world has to offer that I have never seen and I would love to see them. I want to experience new things. One place I would want to go to is Ireland because I am half Irish so I would love to see what the people over there do, etc.

What kind of student are you?
I think I am a hardworking student at times. Sometimes I may slip but I get back on track. I like to see good grades and a high GPA on my report card. I also like seeing that I am a 10th grader attending 11th grade classes, which gives me more opportunities for the future and more hope for myself.


MARCO VASQUEZ

What is the most important lesson you’ve learned in life?
The most important lesson I learned in life is when my brother told me not to be like no one else. He told me that there people that always judge and people that hate on you of what you wear. He also told me to always do good in school don’t listen to no one like if they trying to skip school to not listen to them.

Who would you like to be remembered as?
I would like to be remembered as the as the boy who never gave up. People always telling me that I never give up and that I always try my best. Also I wanna be remembered as the best. My family always told me that I was the best at playing sports, games, and that I am a very fast little kid.

If you could interview anyone, dead or alive, who would it be?
If I can interview someone it would be my dead grandfather. I would want to interview him because I never met him and I wanna know how he used to be. I would want to know how he was when he was a little kid and what he did. Also if he played any sports or any outside games with his friends.

Where does your name come from?
My name is Marco Antonio Vasquez Jr. I was named after my dad. My name means someone that is of extreme greatness and often considered a god in some religions. Also my name means cool. I am one of the nicest guy you will ever meet and have the nicest smile. Last of all my name means that I am shy which is true but if I get to know you I won’t be shy around you.

What kind of student are you?
The student I am is a good and a quiet student that don’t like to get in trouble. I’m the type of student that like to sit next to my friends in case I don’t know what I’m doing or or if I get bored I talk to them. I go straight to my class I don’t like being late and I also don’t like cutting class.


.
jarlyn
JARLYN MARTINEZ


Bio: My name is Jarlyn Martinez and I am Dominican and Puerto Rican. I am a junior here at Bronx Academy of Letters. My favorite things to do is dance and act.

What was the happiest moment of your life? 
The happiest moment of my life is when I went to the Dominican Republic this year on April 3rd. It was special because I got to see my father after 7 years. He was legit my best friend and the only person that really wanted me to be the best I can be, and I appreciate everything my father ever had and has to offer.  So seeing him after that many years, almost a decade, I was beyond happy — the best moment of my life.

Who is a teacher that had a strong influence on you?
A teacher that had a strong influence on my life was my first grade teacher Ms.Brady. She was very sweet with me, I guess you could call me a teachers pet back then. But she truly treated me as if I was one of her own. She’d ask my mom a few times if she could take me out to theaters and different events. I really do love her to this day and I wish I was still in contact with her because she’s the only teacher from my elementary school that left a mark on me. I’m so glad I got to meet her and enjoy that year and experience with her.

What makes a good friend?
What makes for a good friend is someone who has my back through anything. Through any arguments, ups or down. You should be by my side as much as I’m by yours.

What is the most important lesson you’ve learned?
The most important lesson that I’ve learned in life is that you cannot care too much about what others say about you because what others have to say about you shouldnt matter, only your opinion should.

Do you believe in love at first sight?
I do believe in love at first sight because I feel as though you can see something in someone, no one else can. People portray “love at first sight” like a rapid obsession when it’s not even that. It just something unique about the person that separates them from the crowd. And that’s why you admire that person so much.

Who would you like to be remembered as?
I would like to be remembered as someone who has a voice for what I believe in. Because I speak my mind 99% of the time and not only for myself but for the people I surround myself with.


.
excellene
EXCELLENE MENSAH


BIO: Hello, my name is Excellene Mensah. I am 16 years old and attend Bronx Academy of Letters. I am the oldest of 4 younger siblings.

What was the happiest moment of your life?
The happiest moment of my life was when my little sister Stacy was born June 26, 2010. I was very excited to see my new baby sister because it’s been awhile since there’s been a baby in my house. This was a new chapter to my babysitting life. Now she is 5 years old and is in kindergarten.

Share a recent memory.
One of my recent memories was in the summer when I got accepted to the summer youth program and I was able to work for 6 weeks. I was working at Marshall’s on Fordham road. I got to meet a lot of new people. I was able to get my own money and spend it however I wanted to for the very first time of life. It was such a great experience.

What kind of student are you?
In my eyes I see myself as a hardworking student when I want to be. There are days where I am very focused on my work and days where I feel lazy and don’t feel like doing anything. I don’t like to be quiet the whole time while doing my work so sometimes I get distracted and talk to a couple of my friends that I have. But I always try to make sure that my work is done on time and done with all the possible hard work that I can do. I complete all my work when I’m by myself though.

What is the most important lesson you’ve learned?
Through the 16 years of life I have learned a lot of lessons and that has created the person that I am now. Before I trust people or even continue to talk to them I make sure that I know the type of person they are, because nowadays you can’t just call anyone your friend they’ll end up betraying you in a heartbeat. So as for me, I’m nice to everyone but I don’t trust people quickly like how others do.

What makes a good friend?
To me a good friend is someone that will tell you the truth even if you don’t like it. A good friend will always make sure that your okay when you’re doing bad and will always make sure that you don’t got no problems. A good friend should help you with anything that you need help with. In my eyes, I believe that I am a good friend.



ABIGAIL HERNANDEZ

Bio: I love pets. I have a dog whom I love a lot. I enjoy walking around with him. I like painting my nails. I love eating pizza and hanging out with my friends.

What was the saddest moment of your life? What was the happiest?
The saddest moment of my life is when my boyfriends mother passed away. I didn’t know what to do, I felt like I was in a weird spot, so confused with nothing to do. The happiest moment of my life was when i got my dog because I really wanted one all the time.

How would you like to be remembered?
I would like to be remembered as a person who helped out the people that need help because I feel like it is very important to help out the people who are in need.

What makes a good friend?
What makes for a good friend is always being there for them no matter how good or bad things are because you have to show support no matter what.

What is something you are dying to try?
I am dying to go skydiving because it seems so cool and I’m not scared to do things. I would never try going camping because I’m scared of everything being quiet, it makes me be afraid.


.
kimberleyKIMBERLY GLASGOW

About: My name is Kimberly and I’m in the 10th grade. One of my passions is drinking coffee. I NEED coffee in my life. Wanna get on my good side? You know what to do. Oh, don’t forget the milk and sugar *wink wink*. An award I have gotten was at graduation. It was “The Amy Applegate Raven Award For Tenacity”. Tenacity is in my nature :). My interests are reading, eating, learning and drinking coffee. Well, I lived in father since forever until July. That month was filled with festivities and I ain’t just talking about fourth of July. I was born in Brooklyn and raised in The Bronx by two Guyanese people. My favorite subject is science, writing and global history. I used to have two pets and both were fishes. My sister decided one day to feed them both candy and it was the end of their life. I have four siblings, two sisters and two brothers. Pains in my anus.

What was the happiest moment of your life? The saddest?
The happiest moment in my life was when I passed the 8th grade. It’s not all mind-blowing news to other people but to me it’s mind-blowing to me. I haven’t been that smart in math, and math was the reason why I almost failed the state test. I guess I was never really all that good at math. The saddest moment in my life is when I lost my grandfather. A few days before he died, I had a choice to go visit him and I didn’t because I didn’t want to see him in that kind of way, with tubes hooked to his body. I couldn’t take that and I had faith that he would get better, leave the hospital and read me bedtime stories, but fate let me down.

What kind of student are you?
I’m the kind of student that comes to office hours after I missed a day of school. I’m the kind of student who makes sure a another student isn’t left out during a lesson. I’m the kind of student that likes to be on point on everything. I like learning about everything and anything.

What is one thing I’m dying to try? What is one thing I’ll NEVER try?
One thing I’m dying to try is skiing. I don’t know why I really want to do it. I just want to. One thing I’ll never try is nothing. Life is way too short to worry about this and that. You can be 16 right now and 60 in a minute. Living life dangerously is key to living a happy life — but not too dangerously.

What kinds of things do you like to write about? What kinds of things do you like to read?
The kinds of things I like to write about is things that are fictional in my mind and about myself, even though I haven’t written anything for at least 6 months. The kinds of things I like to read is long books (like up to 300 to 500). I don’t really have an idea of what genre is my favorite. It’s just that I like to scope out a book that captures my attention (based on the cover and title) and when I feel like I can actually get down with this book, I read it. The next book I have my sights on is The Age of Innocence.

What does your future hold?
What my future holds is pure happiness and fate (hopefully it won’t fail me again). I want to go to college study, probably international business or law. I’m a big fan of love. I seen most of it on TV and reading, not much in real life. I want to get married and have kids (preferably 6 kids) and die of happiness and old age, but I can’t keep up that dream for long.


.
ashleyASHLEY CORDERO

Hello, my name is Ashley Cordero and I’m Puerto Rican, 16 years old and I live in New York City. One of my favorite things to do is act, I wanna become an actor in some sort of way, but the only thing that is difficult about this is that I am a shy person. I’m hoping to get out of that shell soon to become a better and outgoing actress.

What does your future hold?
What I see for myself in the future, when i’m about 21, is a great career or starting off in my career. I honestly don’t know what I want to become when I get older, but becoming an actress is one of them. I don’t know whether or not that will come true, however I do see myself having a job, going to school and living on my own, whether it’s in a studio or one bedroom apartment, that’s where I see myself in a couple of years. I also plan to travel a lot, I love seeing the world and new things and places. If I was to go traveling I would love to do it with my partner if I have one at the time or with very close friends. I can’t predict the future but I can sure hope for the best.

What would make school a more fun place?
I’m a person that hates school with a deep passion. However I think I would be more interested in school if they actually taught us things we would use in life. Such as taxes and what the real world is like. Another thing that would make school fun in my opinion is if teachers taught visually and hands on. Doing more experiments or more projects with objects will help me learn more and make the lesson more interesting. Aside from Math, English and History, one thing I think would also make school fun is having programs available for people who want to act, sing or dance. The arts are very important to place in someone’s school life because after all the exhausting work, they can have something to look forward to.

What things do you like to read or write about?
Personally, I don’t like reading much but if I do have to read or if there’s something that catches my eye, it would have to be a romance or drama or an action book. I hate non-fiction with a passion whether it’s books, novels, passages basically anything non-fiction. Non-fiction things just have no emotion there just boring and makes me want to fall asleep or just stop reading. Whereas a romance book has several emotions, it could be super happy to the next minute, heartbroken and the best part is that while reading that I can feel some of those emotions by what the character is expressing. Just like reading, I don’t really like writing, but if I were to write something it would have to be something I’m passionate about or have a lot of thoughts about it because if not I can tell it will be boring, or I would just write whatever just for it to be over. Things with emotions and love, you got me already.

Do you believe love at first sight?
I do not believe in love at first sight not one bit. The reason why I don’t believe in love at first sight is because you don’t know the person in order to be “in love”. Sometimes it takes people a few months to a year to actually be in love with someone. It goes with anything in my opinion. If you were to see a book with a great cover and good title you may think you would love it until you actually take time to read the book and find out it’s pretty boring. If you see a certain food online or in a restaurant you may think that looks so good until you actually try it and taste horrible. Sometimes you will like the book or the food but you can never truly know until you try it out. You may love what you see but you don’t love what it truly is. Someone can have the most beautiful face you have ever seen but they could also have the most sh*ttiest personality. So no, I do not believe in love at first sight.

What is one thing you are dying to try? What is one thing you will NEVER try?
One thing I’m dying to try is foreign candy. I know what you’re thinking like really out of everything this is what you are dying to try? Well yes, I watch a lot of things on YouTube and I’m a candy lover to the max. I would love to see how other countries around the world make their candy and how different the taste is from ours. Candy and food are the things that I would love to try around the world, it really interests me and fascinates me. However one thing I would NEVER try is probably skydiving. The reason is because I feel like I would die I have so many thought in my head. What if the parachute doesn’t open, what if I land in water, what if I faint in the air? I just feel like I won’t ever do that.


.
TAYLOR RICHMOND

Bio: I won an award for track and field. Things that interest me is hanging out with my friends and my phone. I come from the Bronx. My favorite subject is science. I don’t have any pets but I want a little tiny tea cup yorkie. I have one brother and one sister that are older than me. I like to have fun.

What is your earliest memory?
My earliest childhood memory is when I went to Florida. I was 7 years old. I had such a fun time because a lot of my family came. When a lot of my family comes, it is funny and fun because we do a lot of stuff, and they also make me laugh.

What does your future hold?
My future hold me to be a fashion designer. I want to be a fashion designer because I love clothes and I like shopping. I would like to design trending clothes for the teenagers because that’s the kind of clothes I like best.

What kind of student are you?
I’m that shy kind of student. I’m that shy kind of student because I don’t really know you like that. But once I get to know you and get used to the class I will open up more. I also get bored fast, and I lose focus when I am bored.

What would make school a more fun place?
School will be more fun if we did not have to wake up so early and school don’t have to start so early because you will fall asleep in your boring classes. So I wish school will start at 9:00. What also would make school fun lessons and we do group work. I also wish we could go outside and get lunch or they should start giving good food.

What makes for a good friend?
What makes a good friend is when they are there for you. They also should have your back. They should cheer you up when you are down. They also should stick up for you if you need it. They should should love and care also. Last thing is they won’t talk about you.


.
unnamedARACELI SALAZAR

Bio: My name is Araceli Salazar. I was born on November 13, 2000. I am the oldest, my brother is 11 and just started middle school. My family’s background comes from Mexico. In December 4, 2014 my grandfather passed away on my dad’s side. It was the saddest moment that I had because it was the first family member that I’d lost. This is my second year in high school and I’ve learned many new things my favorite subjects are Earth Science, Algebra and Global Studies. I like learning about the world especially, and when I’m done with highschool I want to go to college. I will be the first woman in my family to be a doctor and this makes me so proud when I think about it, which is why I can’t let my parents down.

What does your name mean, and why did your parents named you like that?
My name means Treasure in English and it means altar of heaven in Spanish. My mom decided to name me like this because she liked the meaning of the name and she thought it was a unique name because not everyone has it.

What kind of student are you?
I  am the type of student that likes to work hard and likes challenges. I sometimes give up when something is too hard, but there is always someone there to help. I always do my work and I’m very serious when it comes to school. I’m not the type to play around with my future.

What makes a good friend?
What makes a good friend to me is someone who supports you no matter what, someone you can trust, someone who has respect for me and is loyal. A friend is also someone who makes you smile and always listen to what you have to say. My three best friends are Ivanna, Kevin and Stephanie. They are the best friends I can ask for, they are always there when I need them and we support each other through hard times.

What is one thing you are dying to try?
One thing I am dying to try is the girls basketball team and trilatino. I want to try new things I have not done before because it would be fun.

What do you do for fun?
What I like to do for fun is hang out with my friends. This summer my best friends and I went to Six Flags and it was the best day. We had so much fun and it was the first time I got on a rollercoaster, too.


.
alishaALISHA DONALDSON


BIO: My passions are that I love creative writing, but I also love photography and I write about what I see mostly. My interests are  basically the same things as my passions, but I read a lot and I’m addicted to online shopping. My favorite subject in school was forensics, something I wanna major in when I get to college.

What are the most important lessons you’ve learned in life? The most important lessons I’ve learned in life is that sometimes you just have to focus on yourself to get where you need to be.  There would be times where I would care about people and where they were going and what they were doing because I was good friends with them. But over the years I’ve learned that I don’t need people in my life that don’t need me, and that’s a hard lesson to turn to, but I had to ace reality.

How would you like to be remembered?
I would like to be remembered as someone who tried. I’ve had plenty of times where I would just give up and not finish the job either because I was lazy or either because I thought I was plainly gonna get by. But I’ve had someone tell me, “you never try,” and I don’t wanna be that type of person to get everything handed to her without lifting a finger.

What does your future hold?
I honestly don’t know what my future holds. I’m hoping that it’s a nice future with nothing but blessings every now and then. I’ll probably be successful with my dream job.

Do you believe in love at first sight?
I don’t think I do because there would be times where I would just look at my crush and swoon over him but I didn’t know him yet, so I wouldn’t believe that I had this kinda love for him. I had to get to know him to feel like it was something other than just a crush.

What is one thing you are dying to try? What is one thing you will never try?
One thing I’m dying to try is food that’s not in the Bronx, maybe like food from a foreign country like Mexico because they have spicy food and I like spicy food.


.

yachiYACHI M BONILLA

BIO: I am from Puerto Rico. My favorite subject is gym. I have a pet and she is a kitten named Nena. I have 3 siblings, their names are Maria, Ires, Eillona. My passion is music. I got awards in middle school for a outstanding in the Besars Program, Honor Roll, Perfect Attendance, Stem Project Showcase, Poetry Slam, Dance and Best Portfolio. My interest is playing basketball. When I grow up I want to be a flight attendant or a model.

What makes a good friend?
What makes a good a friend is that you are always there for her or him. And having a good friend is also about making that person happy. It is good for your happiness to be a great friend to someone and have their support on you. Also, someone that never lies to you.

What do you do for fun?
What I like doing for fun is go on vacation. I like to sleep a lot and eat a lot. I also like to go to the movies. I like being around babies, they are so cute and funny. I love to read novels, that’s what I really love to do for fun. I like to read poems, too.

What was the happiest moment of your life? The saddest?
The happiest moment I had in my life was spending time with my grandfather. Even though he didn’t give me the same love as he give my sister, I still love him in my own way. The saddest part was losing him. He passed away on October 15, 2013. Next month my grandpa have 2 years that he have passed away.

What does your name mean? Why did your parent name you that?
The name Yachi is Japanese. It means 8 thousands, but it means lucky. And it also means peace. My name is also American since I have Marie. My full name is Yachi Marie Bonilla De Jesus. My parent named me that because she wanted me to have that name and no else.

What kinds of things do you like to write about? What kinds of things do you like to read?
The things I like to write are poems. The thing that I like read is poems. Because I like reading short things, not long and like to write short, simple things.

Leave a comment