BAL Life, Community, Features
Leave a Comment

United Playaz: The Neighborhood Is Looking U.P.

By Kevin Parades

My first moments in United Playaz (U.P.) were amazing. When I walked through the doors, I saw a bunch of students laughing and working. Many of these kids that I knew were in gangs, and I wouldn’t expect them to be their doing homework. Out of their mouths I heard, “Ms., can you help me with my homework, it’s due tomorrow?” It made me feel like anyone can be welcomed there without being judged.

U.P. is a program who’s goal is to stop the violence in “bad” neighborhoods,helping teenagers with their slogan, “it takes the hood the save the hood.” Meaning, we need the support and help from the people from our own neighborhoods. Many kids go to do homework, eat, talk and even just relax. Everyone is welcomed, U.P. tries to help the community as much as possible. The staff that works there are a bunch of energetic adults who always motivate you.

United Playaz was started in San Fransisco by a man named Rudy, who believed that street violence should stop because many innocent people were dying. At Bronx Letters there are currently four members who are a part of United Playaz: myself, Jesus Beato, Jean Ortiz, and Ms. Lauren. We are currently trying to get more people involved.

When I spoke to Ms. Lauren about U.P., she had many good things to say. She mentioned how it changed her life for the better. She said how U.P. is one of the most important things in her life besides her family. She also mentioned how U.P. is an amazing learning experience, because of how it helps everyone.

Learn more about United Playaz here.

Leave a comment